CHAIR - BOB PICKARD, MARIPOSA COUNTY

VICE CHAIR - CHRISTY SCOFIELD, COLUSA COUNTY

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR - GREG NORTON



MADERA, MARIPOSA, MODOC, MONO, NEVADA, PLUMAS, SIERRA. SISKIYOU. TEHAMA. TRINITY. TUOLUMNE

PROGRAM MANAGER - MARY PITTO

TECHNICAL ADVISORY GROUP CHAIR — STEVE ENGFER, MARIPOSA COUNTY

Rural Counties' Environmental Services Joint Powers Authority Board of Directors' Meeting Agenda

801 12th Street – 2nd Floor Conference Room Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 447-4806

Thursday, October 19, 2006 1:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Only those items that indicate a specific time will be heard at the assigned time. All other items may be taken out of sequence to accommodate the Board, the staff and the general public. Indicated time allocations are for planning purposes only and actual times will vary from those indicated.

I. Call to Order, Self Introductions, and Determination of Quorum

II. Business Matters

Discussion and possible action related to the following:

- A. Review and approval of minutes of the meeting of August 17, 2006 Bob Pickard, Chair (pp 1-5)
- B. Re-adoption of a Resolution Approving the Independent Auditors' Report and Financial Statements for the Year Ended December 31, 2005 Stacey Miner, ESJPA Program Administrator (pp 7-38; 5 minutes)
- C. Adoption of Resolutions of Appreciation for Tom Hunter and Mark Rappaport for their years of participation in the ESJPA Bob Pickard, Chair (5 minutes)

III. Public Comment

Any person may address the Board on any matter relevant to the Authority's business, but not otherwise on the agenda.

IV. Presentation Items

- A. CIWMB Tools for Disposal Reporting Review Sherrie Sala-Moore, Acting Branch Manager, Waste Analysis Branch, CIWMB (15 minutes)
- B. Targeted Waste Characterization Studies Nancy Carr, Senior Integrated Waste Management Specialist, Thomas Rudy, Integrated Waste Management Specialist, CIWMB (pp 39-41; 15 minutes)
- C. E-Waste and Universal Waste Management Update Matt McCarron, Special Waste Division, CIWMB and Karl Palmer, Branch Manager, Hazardous Waste Management, DTSC (5 minutes)
- D. El Dorado County Solid Waste Program John Souza, Public Information Officer (15 minutes)

V. Solid Waste/Regulatory Update

Discussion and possible action related to the following:

- A. Report from the CIWMB Kyle Pogue, Supervising Integrated Waste Management Specialist, Office of Local Assistance, CIWMB (10 minutes)
- B. Bienniel Review Preparation Alan Abbs, ESJPA Solid Waste Specialist (pp 43-44; 5 minutes)
- C. AB 1497 Significant Changes for Solid Waste Facilities Larry Sweetser, ESJPA Consultant (pp 45-55; 5 minutes)
- D. Other Regulatory Issues of Interest or Concern Alan Abbs (pp 57-68; 5 minutes)

VI. Legislative Update

Status of 2005-06 Solid Waste Legislation – Paul Smith, RCRC Director of Legislative Affairs (10 minutes)

- A. Chaptered Bills (pp 69-122)
- B. Vetoed Bills (pp 123-127)
- C. Bills that Failed (pp 129-132)

VII. ESJPA Program Updates

Discussion and possible action related to the following:

Grant Program Update – Stacey Miner, Program Administrator (pp 133-140; 10 minutes)

VIII. Agenda Suggestions for Next ESJPA Board Meeting Scheduled for December 14th, 2006

IX. Member County Concerns / Comments

X. Adjournment

Meeting facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. By request, alternative agenda document formats are available to persons with disabilities. To arrange an alternative agenda document format or to arrange aid or services to modify or accommodate persons with a disability to participate in a public meeting, please contact our offices at least 72 hours prior to the meeting by calling (916) 447-4806.

Agenda items will be taken as close as possible to the schedule indicated. Any member of the general public may comment on an agenda item at the time of discussion. In order to facilitate public comment, please let staff know if you would like to speak on a specific agenda item.

The final agenda for this meeting of the Board of Directors of the Rural Counties' Environmental Services Joint Powers Authority will be duly posted at its offices: 801 12th Street, Suite 500, Sacramento, California at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.